top of page


The Awards/Alumnae Recognition Committee organizes activities to recognize alumnae achievements and interests across generations in creative ways utilizing monthly chapter meetings, the website, social media, and the newsletter. In addition, this committee solicits nominations for Alumna and Community Awards presented at the annual scholarship fundraising event.
Chairs: Erin Searles C’03, Erikka Searles Mitchell C'00

The By-laws Committee has the responsibility of reviewing the Chapter By-Laws in order to reflect changes in the needs of the Chapter and maintain alignment with the National Alumnae Association of Spelman College.


Chairs: Erness Hill C’98

The Communications committee is responsible for compiling, organizing and disseminating approved notices and announcements for the chapter, region and National Alumnae Association to the executive committee, membership body, and other alumnae. In addition, utilizing electronic, voicemail, and print methods, the committee serves as the Newsletter editor, webmaster, and electronic/social media coordinator for the chapter.
Chair: Karen Newkirk C'90, Robyn Stokes C'2000
The Courtesy committee is responsible for rendering appropriate courtesies and manifestations of concern (celebrations, illness, sympathies, etc.) to all active Atlanta Chapter members. In addition,the My Sister’s Keeper program, housed under this committee is the best example of our sisterhood in action and serves as a resource for our sisters in need of support. Support may come in the form of an extra hand for any number of reasons, financial, spiritual, etc.
Chairs: Valerie Fluker C’96, Pamela Cooper C’88
The Finance Committee assists the Treasurer, Assistant Treasurer and Financial Secretary in making decisions about the finances of the Chapter including establishing an annual budget, recommendations regarding the need for a change in the dues structure and other revenue sources to support chapter commitments and goals.
Chairs: Mary Forbes C’73 & Denise Baker C’14, Robbin Smith C’92
The Hospitality Committee Committee – Is responsible for soliciting hostess groups (Alumnae classes or church alumnae, etc.) to prepare refreshments for each general and executive meetings. It shall also plan refreshments for all special events in conjunction with the Program Committee. This committee is also responsible for showing our hospitality through the planning of the Freshwoman Welcome for incoming Atlanta students, the welcome back activity for all returning students, and the Senior Send-off.
Chair: C. Suzette Taylor-Phillips C’99
The membership committee is responsible for actively recruiting members across generations to the organization while promoting member benefits and value through a number of fun activities.
Chairs: Joy Smith C’88, Joyya Baines C'2013, Thelma Spencer C'90
The Fundraising Committee creates opportunities to raise funds for the Chapter operations, endowed and local chapter scholarships. The primary fundraising activities include the Annual Scholarship Brunch, Spelman Blue on the Greens (SBOTG) Golf & Tennis Charity Event, HBCU Alliance Run/Walk, and Jazz @ the Museum.
Chairs: Patrice Francis C’90, Crystal Woods C'2001, Pam Cooper C'88, Holly Fisher C'83
The Nominations Committee is responsible for conducting chapter elections, including encouraging members to run for office, gathering nominations, verifying eligibility and determining a slate of candidates for leadership positions within the chapter.
Chair: Dawn Griffin C'90
The Scholarship Committee in conjunction with the fundraising committee plays a vital role in the Atlanta Chapter. This committee suggests the procedures and criteria for the selection of two (2) Atlanta student scholarship recipients that covers tuition and fees on a graduated scale each year. In addition, the scholarship committee determines the criteria for awarding the Atlanta Chapter endowed scholarship.
Chair: Joanne Jackson Jones C’79
The Seasoned Alumnae Committee is responsible for strengthening the commitments of the NAASC-Atlanta Chapter to older alumnae, increasing membership, providing requested activities to members, providing ways for alumnae to meet other alumnae, organizing fellowship activities, and keeping members informed about Spelman. 
Chairs: Marian Jordan C’67
The Young Alumnae Committee is dedicated to enhancing the alumnae engagement experience for recent graduates. Our mission is to provide networking opportunities through focused events that promote the Spelman sisterhood beyond the gates. We are committed to empowering a community of Spelman young alumnae to be the change they wish to see.
Chairs: Denise Jones C'2014, Nakaiya Turk C'2012, Khalia Murray C'2015
The Programs Committee consolidates the plans of all standing and ad hoc committees to publish a robust calendar that considers segmented and cross-generational activities of proposed events for the ensuing year. In addition, the program chair manages the following ad hoc committee activity and programs:

Chairs: Crystal Sidberry C’93 & Holly Fisher C'83

  • Fitness, Health & Wellness: Chairs-Laura Brown-Morse C'91, Noelle Allen C'90, Jocelyn Cox C'89 -

  • Minister’s Council - Planning of Sisterhood Sundays: Chair- Pam Cook C'85

  • Sisterhood Committee - Planning of Sunday Suppers

  • SpelMoms - Activities focused on mommy outings, play dates and date nights: Chairs- Andrea Lewis C'96, Kanika Sloan Williams C'97, Joslyn Jackson C'96, Stacey Valrie- Peace C'90

  • SpelPreneurs - Atlanta - Blue Pages: Chair - Kimberly Carlisle C'88

  • Student Recruitment: Chair-  Erika Walker-Cash C'97 

  • Advocacy & Social Action - The Advocacy & Social Action Committee plans Spelman Day at the Capitol and other exciting events including political candidate training. Chairs - Anita Thomas C'86, Kayla Thigpen C'2020, Paquita Morgan C'96

  • Golden Girl Tea: Chair - Deirdra Yarbrough C'77

  • Sisterhood Sunday: Chair - Leah Jackson C'2002

  • Spelman Brigade: Chair - Jessica Coates C'2013

  • Technology: Chair - ChieStine Lawrence C'99

  • Community Service - The Community Service Committee works to further the College’s mission of commitment to positive social change, to align with the National Alumnae Association mission of sisterhood and community service, to uplift the name and reputation of Spelman College in the Metro Atlanta community to inspire future students and donors to align with the College, and to create partnerships and alliances with corporations and organizations in Greater Atlanta committed to positive social change and led or impacting African American families, women and girls. Co-Chairs - Andrea Carter C’90 and Angela Glover C’92

bottom of page